Home Technology Vice President Professor Yemi Osinbajo inaugurates Advisory Group on Technology and Creativity.

Vice President Professor Yemi Osinbajo inaugurates Advisory Group on Technology and Creativity.


Vice President Professor Yemi Osinbajo has inaugurated the Advisory Group on Technology and Creativity which is part of the Industrial Policy and Competitiveness Advisory Council which was established by President Muhammadu Buhari in 2017.

The technology and creative sectors contribute a great deal to employment and contribute enormously to boosting Nigeria’s global profile.

The Advisory Group will add value to the existing policies by coming up with an inclusive and all-embracing roadmap for promoting the technology and creative sector so that they can create jobs, contribute to growth and improve the well-being of Nigerians.

The group will assemble relevant ministers and heads of agencies, along with leading business people to boost public-private partnership, which is inevitable as the public sector account for only eight per cent of national income.

With regard to the creative industry, the Federal Government recently took action to include the sector among those that will benefit from pioneer status. Efforts are also underway to tackle piracy in term of intellectual property and copyright and to secure financial resources to support the sector.

The Bank of Industry already has the N1 billion Nolly fund to support production. Such gesture demonstrates the interface between the technology and creative sector, especially with regard to financing, infrastructure and policy

Members of the Advisory Group include Ministers of Communications Technology; Industry, Trade and Investment, Information and Culture; Science and Technology; governor of Central Bank of Nigeria, Executive Vice Chairman, Nigerian Communications Commission; Director General National Information Technology Development Agency. Others include the Director General, Nigeria Film Corporation; Managing Director, Bank of Industry; Director General, National Export Promotion Council and the Executive Secretary, Nigerian Investment Promotion Council. Private sector members of the Group include

  • Kola Aina – Ventures Platform;
  • Funbi Falayi – Leadspace;
  • Oloho Omame – Endeavor;
  • Kola Oyeneyin –Venia Hub;
  • Ismaila Sanusi – Colab Kaduna;
  • Daser David – Nhub Jos and
  • Adeyinka Adekeye – Founders Hub.